Nine years

Today, my baby turns nine years old. It seems like just yesterday, I was graduating from college and planning a big life for myself. Little did I know that the universe had other (much more amazing) plans for me that I never could have conceived on my own.

When I found out that Ruby would be born with health issues, I think some people felt sorry for me. They figured my life would be hard and that I would never experience the pleasures of being a mom because my baby wasn’t “typical.”

In contrast, my experience as a mother has been richer than anything I could have imagined. I’ve learned to appreciate each developmental step Ruby has taken that much more, because she fought so hard to achieve them. I celebrate the small stuff every single day of my life.

One of the most amazing gifts of being Ruby’s mom is seeing how she touches other peoples’ lives. She lights up the darkest corners of a room with her luminous spirit. Her infectious giggle, adorable smile, wonderful personality and angel face make everyone stop in their tracks and see life for what it truly is — a miracle.

Nine years ago, I didn’t know if Ruby would live to take her first breath. Miraculously, she came into this world breathing on her own and went on to surpass every single prediction doctors made about her development. In her short nine years, she has touched so many lives and helped to change the way people perceive individuals with special needs. And I have been blessed to be a part of it all. How did I get so lucky?

Happy birthday, Ruby. I love you more than I could ever put into words.

Leave a Reply

